top of page

CARAGA Adventure: Home of Britania Group of Islands - The Philippine Wayfarer

CARAGA

The Caraga Administrative Region, is named after the historic CARAGA, an old territory in Northern Mindanao. The term was derived from KALAGAN, the name of people believed to be of Visayan origin. The word "Kalagan" came from two Bisayan words namely: "Kalag" and "An" which means soul or people and land, respectively.


The region is composed of four cities: Butuan, Surigao, Bislig and Tandag, and five provinces: Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur and the Province of Dinagat Islands.


Caraga boasts of its rich cultural heritage and vast natural attractions which offers unlimited adventure. It is a destination of never ending quest of nature.


(Taken @ Sohoton Cove)

This is a 5-day adventure to explore the region and enjoy its unspoiled natural wealth. Places of interest: Britania Group of Islands in SanAgustin, Enchanted River in Hinatuan, Tinuy-an Falls in Bislig, Magpupungko Tidal Pool in Pilar, 3 islands in Gen Luna, Boardwalk on Cloud 9 Surf Resort, Sohoton Cove Bucas Grande and Laswitan in Cortes. I read travel blogs about these treasures and upon visiting, it's breathtaking! See for yourself and you will be amazed as I were.

BRITANIA GROUP OF ISLANDS

Surigao del Sur has a lot to offer from sunrise beaches, enchanting river, wildest falls and beautiful islands, Surigao del Sur is a perfect place of getting up-close and personal with nature and a haven worth dwelling.


With approximately 120kms from Butuan Airport to the Municipality of San Agustin, Surigao del Sur is a group of 24 beautiful, untouched islands surrounded with crystal clear waters. Some are already visible from the shore of barangay Salvacion. Among the islands are the 4 most visited: Hiyor-Hiyoran, Naked Island, Hagunoy Island and Buslon.



How to get there?


From north to south of Eastern Mindanao, Britania Group of Islands was my first spot.


Starting from Butuan Airport (I suggest to book a flight that will be arriving Butuan at 7:00am), there are public transports such as buses or vans bound for Tandag City though I preferred to take a van for it is already available in the airport. Advise the driver to drop you at Barangay Salvacion, San Agustin, Surigao del Sur. You can hire a van if you are going there in a group. (I am just lucky that time for I was the last person for the van to depart). Travel time is approximately 3hours.


You may take the other route from Davao Airport and will end up in Butuan Airport. (Please check places of interest above)

Butuan Airport. Arrived at 7am via PAL

From Salvacion, take a tricycle or a habal habal for 20-40 pesos (the price will depend on how you bargain). A stop-over at the Office of Tourism for a toll of a 25-peso environmental fee. (I asked the driver for a place to stay overnight and he brought me to Mac Arthur's Place)

Mac Arthur's Place. I Arrived here at exactly 11:00am and ate my lunch. There are more accommodations in the neighborhood but this is a perfect place for Britania Island Hopping jump off and they are offering the activity as well.



My Lunch! Thank God for the Grace.

Mac Arthur's Place Attic Room. It is an air-conditioned room with its own CR but no television. The rate is Php1000.00 and reasonable enough for your one night stay. They also have bigger rooms for a group. Room rate is around Php2000-3000.

View from the Attic Room's Veranda.

Other Rooms above Sea Water, Mac Arthur's Place.

Mac Arthur's Place's Footbridge. You will pass through this footbridge on your jump off to Britania Island Hopping.

Mac Arthur's Jump off to Britania Island Hopping. At the back is the boat I boarded for my island hopping. Rate is Php1,300/boat.



Mac Arthur's Place Fish Cage. Underneath is a variety of different fish. You can take an order and they will cook it for you.

Hagonoy Island. My first drop and the farthest of all islands. It is extraordinary beautiful with extremely blue water and a long fine sand bar. It is the largest of all island and is ideal venue for a picnic.


Other side of Hagonoy Island

Hagonoy Island

Eastern side of Hagonoy Island

More shots of unexploited Hagonoy Island. This is the best among the 4 I visited.

View upon leaving Hagunoy Island

Naked Island. This island is only visible when low tide. The reason why to called as such because it is simply a bare island with white sand floating on top of the water.

Hiyor-Hiyoran Island. This island is my last stop. The island has coconut trees in front of the beach, big rocks and tree trunks perfect for your photo-shoots. It's just I see black particles (like ashes) that come along with the waves as shown in the picture.


Hiyor-Hiyoran Island. I met a group of tourists from Manila in this Island. I approached and asked them for their next destination. They told me that they will be departing Salvacion by 4am on the next day and wil push through the Town of Hinatuan (Enchanted River) and the City of Bislig (Tinuy-an Falls), (It is my itinerary for my second day in Surigao). I asked them if I could join them and share the fare because they hired a private Van from Butuan for their whole trip to Davao City. Luckily, they agreed and advised to fetch me in my place.

Going back to Mac Arthur's Place. Arrived 4pm. It's time to take a rest for my second day adventure.

Breakdown of Expenses:

Van (Butuan to San Agustin) - Php280

Tricycle (Salvacion to Mac Arthur's Place) - Php20

Environmental Fee - Php25

Lunch lobster with rice - Php250.00

Dinner grilled squid and fish - Php250

(1) liter soft drinks - Php50

Beer - Php100

Attic Room - Php1000

Boat rental - Php1300

***YOU MUST HAVE THE SKILLS OF BARGAINING***

Contacts:

Van: 0912 826 2797 / 09287367965

Tricycle: 0948 378 0050 Kuya Eugene Salmmuda

Mac Arthur's Place: 0916 585 0171

This is not the end of my journey but I'm just getting started... ENCHANTED RIVER AND TINUY-AN FALLS... Click Here!

You Might Also Like:
About Me

When I encounter difficulties, I often wonder, Why? ...As I mature in faith, God uses test and trials to develop my character, Exceeding joy in God's glory. 

And  that JOY is "TRAVELING" as one of my Acclaims.

Join my mailing list

Search by Tags
No tags yet.

© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page